Advancing Patient Safety Right Now


white angled overlay image
Patient Safety Right Now logo

A Bold New Direction

Patient Safety Right Now … is the rallying cry and the foundation for a bold new direction defined in the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s 2018-2023 Strategic Plan. This new five-year strategy launched on April 1, 2018 focuses on making patient safety a priority. Patient Safety Right Now helps the Canadian Patient Safety Institute to achieve its vision of making Canada’s healthcare system the safest in the world.

At the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, we believe that every patient experience should be safe. Unfortunately, that is not the reality. In terms of mortality, patient safety ranks third behind cancer and heart disease. In Canada today, an adverse event occurs every 1 minute and 18 seconds, and every 13 minutes and 14 seconds, someone will die from preventable harm. That impacts about 28,000 people per year. Hospital-acquired infections will account for roughly 70,000 patient safety incidents annually. And, it’s no better in the community, where up to 13 per cent of people receiving home care will experience a harmful adverse event like a fall or medication error.1

In 2014-2015, an estimated 138,000 hospitalizations

resulted in harm, with a fifth of those with more than one occurrence. Over 40 per cent of complex surgical patients suffer harm and those who do are four times more likely to die in hospital. 2 And, harm can affect the young and old alike. A recent study revealed that 9.2 per cent of children experience harm while in hospital; 3 and an estimated 37 per cent of seniors in nine provinces received a prescription for a drug that should not be taken by this population. 4

These facts are staggering, and this level of harm is simply unacceptable.
Now is the time to act. Consider these facts:

Over the next 30 years in Canada, 12.1 million Canadians will be harmed by the healthcare system;

1.2 million Canadians will lose their lives to a patient safety incident;

within acute and home care settings, patient safety incidents will cost the healthcare system $82 billion (2017 $).1

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute is committed to inspiring and advancing a culture committed to sustained improvement for safer care. You will hear the urgency in our call to action. We will ensure safe healthcare by demonstrating what works and strengthening commitment to patient safety in Canada … right now! The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will “push“ more strategically by focussing on system change, but it will also create “pull“ by raising the profile of patient safety, setting targets, securing greater commitment from everyone, and reporting to Canadians.

1 The Case for Investing in Patient Safety in Canada. RiskAnalytica, August 2017.

2 Measuring Patient Harm in Hospitals. Canadian Institute for Healthcare Improvement, 2016.

3 Adverse events among children in Canadian hospitals: The Canadian Paediatric Adverse Events Study. Canadian Medical Association Journal. September 2012.

4 Drug Use Among Seniors in Canada. Canadian Institute for Healthcare Improvement, 2016.

How the Strategy was developed

View Patient Safety Right Now graphic

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute is regarded as the authority on patient safety in Canada and has steadily provided the foundation for all players in the system to recognize and act on the fact that despite the best efforts of committed providers and leaders, healthcare in Canada remains unsafe. An independent evaluation completed in 2017 found that the Canadian Patient Safety Institute has made significant progress in fulfilling its mandate and that substantial value has been generated from Health Canada’s investment in it. With the independent evaluation recommendations and our own consultations as part of our strategic planning exercise, the Canadian Patient Safety Institute considered two fundamental contextual factors.

First is the increased emphasis on improved performance in healthcare in all dimensions, including quality, safety, patient experience and value for money. Canadians expect their public funding to deliver more than a mediocre system; they deserve high quality and safe care. Second, is the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s intended impact prospect given its mandate and resources. Without legislative or regulatory levers of its own, the Canadian Patient Safety Institute cannot directly influence pan-Canadian patient safety performance. The Canadian Patient Safety Institute works with partners and through intermediaries across the country to make care safer. Even without direct control of the desired outcomes, our assessment of what we will do is anchored in whether patient safety is improving substantially across the country. We believe our ultimate result is the reduction of preventable harm to patients and its unintended impact on the lives of their families and communities, and to healthcare providers and leaders.

The new strategic directions are based on the evolution of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute and new thinking about its theory of change. Clearly, more robust commitments are required to advance patient safety in Canada and health systems need additional support to complete end-to-end patient safety improvements and to evaluate results. The new strategy focuses on key stakeholder relationships that are critical to demonstrating sustainable improvements safety that are mutually reinforced by strengthening policy and regulation. The new strategy enhances the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s partnership with its patient-led program, Patients for Patient Safety Canada, empowering patients and the public to advocate for policy, regulatory and other actions to improve patient safety outcomes and the patient experience.

Strategic Key Elements

Patient Safety Right Now will demonstrate best practices in healthcare, but also must strengthen commitment to patient safety in Canada among healthcare providers, healthcare leaders and the public. The strategy relies on two mutually reinforcing key elements. Progress in one element defines further requirements in the other.

Our strategy is to research and deliver measurable, sustainable patient safety improvement practices that are regularly evaluated. These can then be introduced to committed healthcare jurisdictions. In this Annual Report, you will learn more about the progress of our four Safety Improvement Projects - Measuring and Monitoring of Safety, Enhanced Recovery After Surgery, Teamwork and Communication, and Medication Safety at Care Transitions.

Our strategy is to translate evidence of what works into standard practices at all levels of the healthcare system, seeking commitment to and expectations for patient safety in Canada. By doing so, further areas for improvement will be identified. Strengthening commitment is providing the evidence to inspire jurisdictions to adopt stronger patient safety legislation, higher standards for safety, better regulations, and improved organizational level policies to promote safety and protect patients.

The new strategy focuses on key stakeholder relationships that are critical to strengthening policy and regulation and a smaller number of partners with firm commitments to implementation and evaluation of safety improvement interventions. Further, the new strategy enhances our partnership with Patients for Patient Safety Canada (a patient-led program of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute), engaging and empowering patients and the public to advocate for policy, legislative, regulatory, and other actions to improve patient safety outcomes and patient and provider experiences.

transparent straight arrow pointing right

By working with partners to demonstrate what works, we uncover the practices that should be built into policies, standards and regulations. By working to build a more robust commitment to patient safety through mechanisms such as system transparency and reporting, we identify pressing system needs that may require further testing of promising practices whose potential for standardization can be evaluated.

Executing the Strategy

The mechanisms to execute the strategy include these actions:

Grey angle

Implement – Safety Improvement Projects in priority areas to demonstrate what works.

Grey angle

Evaluate – embed evaluation in all Canadian Patient Safety Institute activities to assemble evidence of what works.

Grey angle

Share with purpose – develop concrete strategies to share evidence and improvement knowledge.

Grey angle

Raise the profile – of patient safety to create expectations for improvement.

Grey angle

Improve transparency – develop a comprehensive framework that addresses rights and obligations for transparency at all levels.

Grey angle

Strengthen commitment – to safe care through policy, regulation and accreditation.

Lines of business

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s lines of business provide a line of sight between the strategy and the activities that we plan to undertake. By prioritizing our actions, we can determine how to measure our impact. The lines of business provide a guiding framework that links together the 2018-2023 Business Plan, the annual Operational Plan and the Performance Measurement Strategy.

The Lines of Business are:

Safety Improvement Projects

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute has a central role in continuing to build capability and will work with committed partners and stakeholders to embed patient safety science and competencies to better equip health professionals. In addition, we will work with committed partners to implement and evaluate sustainable Safety Improvement Projects that align with pan-Canadian priorities. Our objectives are to:

  • Develop explicit criteria for identifying priorities, committed partners and host organizations to participate in Safety Improvement Projects.
  • Ensure partners and participants meet readiness criteria to ensure they are set-up for success, and have the necessary capability to meet project expectations.
  • Implement Safety Improvement Projects by using an integrated quality improvement/ knowledge translation implementation science methodology and design.
  • Evaluate initiatives to assemble evidence of what works, so that promising results can be replicated by others to impact patient safety outcomes.
  • Develop partnerships to scale and spread those results to health systems and a broader patient safety audience.
  • Develop a knowledge translation and implementation science model that uses a range of mechanisms to transfer compelling messages to targeted audiences.
  • Create a mechanism to gather intelligence from the field and use this information in the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s priority-setting.

This area of focus encompasses multiple strategic approaches, knowledge translation and implementation science inclusive of research and intelligence gathering, capability building and safety improvement that synergistically aim to develop, deliver, implement and evaluate patient safety practices that will contribute to reducing harm.


Read More

Making Patient Safety a Priority

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will increase the profile of patient safety among the public and patients, healthcare providers, healthcare leaders and governments, through these actions:

  • Use the patient voice in reporting, campaigns and media to make patient safety a higher priority across healthcare systems.
  • Increase the profile of patient safety in the media.
  • Use compelling patient stories to reach patients and the public.
  • Use a broad array of social media and digital platforms to engage the public, providers and leaders in an exchange of ideas and strategies to help advance patient safety.
  • Build on existing measures to report on the state of patient safety across the country.
  • Take evidence and analysis from other Canadian Patient Safety Institute activities and communicate them to the field.

Read More

Policy Impact

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will influence policy, legislation, standards and regulations in order to incorporate best evidence to improve patient safety. Our objectives are to:

  • Contribute evidence to inform policies and standards that best support patient safety at organizational and health system levels.
  • Work to embed patient safety requirements in regulations, legislation, standards and accreditation.
  • Influence those who educate and bestow credentials on health professionals so that patient safety is a core competency of all healthcare providers and leaders.
  • Support the development of better measurement, reporting and transparency of patient safety in Canada.

Read More

Alliances and Networks

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will create strategic alliances and networks with patients, government, industry and other partners who are committed to making care safer. Our objectives are to:

  • Establish a new network of senior decision-makers from all provincial and territorial governments who are committed to improving common patient safety challenges.
  • Engage industry partners in addressing persistent barriers to patient safety.
  • Create new networks of patient groups to share knowledge and experience related to patient engagement.
  • Promote national alignment of healthcare systems around patient safety priorities.

Read More

Impact and Performance Measurement

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute is committed to measuring its impact. The Performance Measurement Strategy helps our organization understand whether we are accomplishing our goals. It is, in effect, a feedback mechanism for our two-pronged approach of demonstrating what works and strengthening commitment as it helps us answer whether we are doing either of these two elements effectively.

An infrastructure for internal reporting of data required was developed to produce our Scorecard and the data table associated with the Performance Measurement Strategy. We also collected data on measures where available, and have laid the groundwork to collect and report on data for other measures that are not yet available, but which will be in 2019-2020 and beyond.

Read More

The Federal Government has been looking at the future role and configuration of Pan-Canadian Health Organizations (PCHOs). The Canadian Patient Safety Institute has been participating in the Implementation Steering Group process and is continuing to work with other PCHOs and federal, provincial and territorial governments to strengthen collaboration and impact.

Faire avancer la sécurité des patients, maintenant


white angled overlay image
Patient Safety Right Now logo

Une toute nouvelle orientation

La sécurité des patients, maintenant … C’est le cri de ralliement et le fondement d’une toute nouvelle orientation, telle que décrite par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients dans son plan stratégique 2018-2023. Cette stratégie lancée le 1er avril 2018 et dont le déploiement s’échelonne sur 5 ans vise essentiellement à faire de la sécurité des patients une priorité. La sécurité des patients, maintenant permettra à l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients de concrétiser sa vision de faire en telle sorte que le système de santé canadiens soit le plus sécuritaire au monde.

À l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, nous estimons que toute expérience patient doit être sécuritaire. Malheureusement, la réalité est toute autre. La sécurité des patients occupe le troisième rang parmi les causes de mortalité, derrière le cancer et les maladies cardiaques. Aujourd’hui, au Canada, un événement indésirable se produit à chaque 1 minute et 18 secondes, et une personne meurt toutes les 13 minutes et 14 secondes après avoir subi un préjudice évitable. Cela représente 28 000 personnes par année. Les infections nosocomiales comptent pour 70 000 incidents liés à la sécurité des patients annuellement, sans parler de ceux recensés dans la communauté, où le pourcentage de victimes d’événements indésirables préjudiciables, tels qu’une chute ou une erreur de médicament, se situe à près de 13 % chez les bénéficiaires de soins à domicile.1

En 2014-2015, selon les estimations, 138 000 hospitalisations

ont fait suite à un préjudice, et le cinquième de ce nombre résultait d’une récurrence.2 Plus de 40 pour cent des patients en soins chirurgicaux complexes subissent un préjudice, et ces patients sont quatre fois plus à risque de mourir à l’hôpital.2 Les préjudices touchent tant les jeunes que les adultes. Une étude récente a révélé que 9,2 pour cent des enfants hospitalisés sont victimes d’un préjudice;3 et 37 pour cent des aînés dans neuf provinces ont reçu une ordonnance d’un médicament qui ne devait pas leur être administré.4

Ces statistiques sont préoccupantes, et ce niveau de préjudice est tout simplement inacceptable. Maintenant, c’est le temps d’agir. Prenez ces faits en considération :

Au cours des 30 prochaines années au Canada, 12,1 millions de Canadiens subiront des préjudices en raison des vulnérabilités du système de santé;

1,2 millions de Canadiens décèderont à la suite d’un incident lié à la sécurité des patients;

et les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients en soins aigus et en soins à domicile coûteront 82 milliards de dollars au système de santé (en $ de 2017).1

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients s’est engagé à devenir une source d’inspiration pour le développement d’une culture axée sur l’amélioration continue de la sécurité des patients. Nous appelons à une action urgente, et cela s’entendra dans le ton que nous utiliserons. Nous assurerons la sécurité des soins en démontrant ce qui fonctionne et en renforçant l’engagement des Canadiens envers la sécurité des patients… maintenant. L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients s’emploiera de façon plus stratégique à « donner une impulsion » en se concentrant sur le changement systémique, de même qu’à accroître l’intérêt en rehaussant le profil de la sécurité des patients, en établissant des cibles, en suscitant un plus grand engagement de la part de chacun et en donnant des comptes rendus à la population canadienne.

1 Le bien-fondé d’investir dans la sécurité des patients au Canada. RiskAnalytica, août 2017.

2 Mesure des préjudices subis par les patients dans les hôpitaux canadiens. Institut canadien d’information sur la santé, 2016.

3 Événements indésirables chez les enfants dans les hôpitaux du Canada : Étude Canadienne sur les événements indésirables en soins pédiatriques. Canadian Medical Association Journal. Septembre 2012.

4 Utilisation des médicaments chez les personnes âgées au Canada. Institut canadien d’information sur la santé, 2016.

Comment la stratégie a été élaborée

Voyez l’infographie de La sécurité des patients, maintenant

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients est considéré comme l’autorité en matière de sécurité des patients au Canada et a tenu tous les acteurs du système constamment informés afin qu’ils soient à même de constater que malgré les efforts de prestataires de soins et de leaders engagés, le système de santé canadien n’est toujours pas sécuritaire. Selon une évaluation indépendante effectuée en 2017, l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a fait d’importants progrès dans l’exécution de son mandat et a généré une valeur substantielle pour son bailleur de fonds, Santé Canada. À la lumière des recommandations de l’évaluation indépendante et de nos consultations faisant partie de notre exercice de planification stratégique, l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a tenu compte de deux facteurs contextuels fondamentaux.

Tout d’abord, l’accent accru mis sur performance du système de santé sous tous ses aspects, y compris la qualité, la sécurité, l’expérience patient et l’efficience. Les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que leur système de santé financé à même les fonds publics leur offre davantage que la médiocrité; ils méritent des soins de haute qualité et sécuritaires. Ensuite, il y a les attentes vis-à-vis de l’impact de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients compte tenu de son mandat et de ses ressources. Ne disposant lui-même d’aucun levier législatif ou règlementaire, l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients ne peut influencer directement la performance pancanadienne en matière de sécurité des patients. L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients s’efforce de rendre les soins plus sécuritaires en travaillant avec des partenaires et des intermédiaires partout au pays. Bien que nous ne puissions contrôler directement les résultats espérés, nous déterminons nos actions à venir en vérifiant si la sécurité des patients fait des progrès significatifs de part et d’autre du pays. Pour nous, le résultat à atteindre est la réduction des préjudices aux patients qui sont évitables, et de leurs répercussions involontaires sur la vie des familles, des communautés, des fournisseurs de soins et des leaders en santé.

Les nouveaux axes stratégiques reposent sur l’évolution de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et sa nouvelle conception de la théorie du changement. Définitivement, des engagements plus fermes sont requis pour faire avancer la sécurité des patients au Canada et les systèmes de santé ont besoin d’un plus ample soutien pour améliorer de façon globale la sécurité des patients et évaluer les résultats. La nouvelle stratégie mise sur les relations avec des parties prenantes clés, essentielles pour réaliser des améliorations durables et renforcées par une réglementation et des politiques plus robustes. La nouvelle stratégie consolide le partenariat de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients avec son programme dirigé par les patients, notamment Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada, qui encourage les patients et le public à réclamer des politiques, des lois et d’autres actions susceptibles d’améliorer les résultats en sécurité des patients et l’expérience du patient.

Principaux éléments stratégiques

La sécurité des patients, maintenant démontrera quelles sont les pratiques exemplaires en soins de santé, mais devra également renforcer l’engagement des fournisseurs de soins, des leaders en santé et du public envers la sécurité des patients au Canada. La stratégie s’articule autour de deux éléments pivots qui se nourrissent mutuellement et dont les effets sont conjugués. Les progrès réalisés sous l’un des éléments déterminent les nouvelles exigences de l’autre.

Notre stratégie vise à identifier et à proposer des pratiques d’amélioration de la sécurité des patients mesurables et durables, qui sont régulièrement évaluées. Celles-ci peuvent être présentées aux autorités sanitaires engagées. Ce rapport annuel fait état des progrès réalisés par nos quatre projets d’amélioration de la sécurité : Mesure et surveillance de la sécurité, Récupération améliorée après la chirurgie, Travail d’équipe communication, et Utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments aux points de transition des soins.

Notre stratégie vise à faire en sorte que les données probantes sur ce qui fonctionne bien se traduisent en pratiques normalisées à tous les paliers du système de santé, tout en suscitant l’engagement et rehaussant les attentes envers la sécurité des patients au Canada. Ce faisant, d’autres occasions d’amélioration seront identifiées. Le renforcement de l’engagement procure les données probantes susceptibles de convaincre les différentes instances à adopter des lois plus robustes pour assurer la sécurité des patients, de plus hautes normes de sécurité, des règlements plus rigoureux et des politiques organisationnelles davantage axées sur la sécurité et la protection des patients.

La nouvelle stratégie se concentre sur les relations avec les partenaires clés pouvant jouer un rôle important dans le renforcement des politiques et des lois, ainsi qu’avec un nombre plus restreint de partenaires fermement engagés envers la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation des initiatives visant l’amélioration de la sécurité. De plus, la nouvelle stratégie renforce notre partenariat avec Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada (un programme de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients dirigé par les patients), qui mobilise les patients et le public et leur donne les moyens de faire valoir la nécessité de politiques, de lois, de règlements et d’actions qui améliorent les résultats en matière de sécurité des patients et les expériences des patients et des soignants.

transparent straight arrow pointing right

Ce travail concerté pour démontrer ce qui fonctionne bien nous permet de faire connaître les pratiques exemplaires qui devraient être enchâssées dans les politiques, les normes et les règlements. En travaillant dans le sens d’un engagement plus ferme envers la sécurité des patients par des mécanismes tels que la transparence du système et la divulgation, nous identifions les besoins urgents du système qui pourraient nécessiter la mise à l’essai de pratiques prometteuses, dont le potentiel d’être érigées en normes pourrait être évalué.

Exécution de la stratégie

Les mécanismes pour mettre la stratégie en exécution comprennent les actions suivantes :

Grey angle

Mettre en œuvre – des projets d’amélioration de la sécurité dans les secteurs prioritaires pour démontrer ce qui fonctionne bien.

Grey angle

Évaluer – intégrer l’évaluation dans toutes les activités de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients pour colliger les données probantes sur ce qui fonctionne bien.

Grey angle

Partager de façon ciblée – élaborer des stratégies concrètes pour partager les données probantes et les connaissances en amélioration.

Grey angle

Rehausser le profil – de la sécurité des patients pour créer des attentes en matière d’amélioration.

Grey angle

Accroître la transparence – concevoir un cadre de référence exhaustif sur les droits et devoirs inhérents à la transparence à tous les niveaux.

Grey angle

Renforcer l’engagement – envers des soins sécuritaires par le truchement de politiques, de règlements et de l’agrément.

Secteurs d’activité

Les secteurs d’activité de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients assurent la cohésion entre la stratégie et les activités que nous planifions. En établissant un ordre de priorité de nos actions, nous pouvons déterminer comment mesurer notre impact. Les secteurs d’activité fournissent un cadre d’orientation qui fait le pont entre le Plan d’affaires 2018-2023, le Plan opérationnel annuel et la Stratégie de mesure de la performance.

Les secteurs d’activité sont les suivants :

Projets d’amélioration de la sécurité

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients continuera de jouer un rôle de premier plan en matière de renforcement des capacités et travaillera avec des parties prenantes et des partenaires engagés pour l’intégration de la science et des compétences de la sécurité des patients afin de mieux outiller les professionnels de la santé. De plus, en collaboration avec des partenaires engagés, nous mettrons en œuvre, et évaluerons, des projets d’amélioration de la sécurité durables qui sont alignés avec les priorités pancanadiennes. Nos objectifs se résument ainsi :

  • Élaborer des critères clairs pour cerner les priorités et identifier les partenaires engagés et les organismes hôtes susceptibles de participer aux projets d’amélioration de la sécurité.
  • Se rallier avec des partenaires et des participants dont l’état de préparation est garant du succès et qui possèdent la capacité nécessaire pour satisfaire aux attentes du projet.
  • Mettre en œuvre des projets d’amélioration de la sécurité en employant une conception et une méthodologie intégrées de la science de la mise en œuvre et de l’application des connaissances/de l’amélioration de la qualité.
  • Évaluer les initiatives afin de rassembler les données probantes sur ce qui fonctionne bien, de sorte que les résultats prometteurs puissent être reproduits par d’autres dans le but d’optimiser les résultats de la sécurité des patients.
  • Créer des partenariats pour déployer et diffuser ces résultats aux systèmes de santé et à un public plus vaste sensibilisé à la sécurité des patients.
  • Élaborer un modèle de la science de la mise en œuvre et de l’application des connaissances qui utilise divers mécanismes pour véhiculer des messages convaincants à des publics cibles.
  • Concevoir un mécanisme qui recueille des informations pertinentes au domaine et utiliser ces informations dans l’établissement des priorités de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients.

Ce champ d’intérêt comporte de multiples approches stratégiques ainsi que la science de la mise en œuvre et de l’application des connaissances, qui englobent la recherche et la collecte de renseignements, le renforcement des capacités et l’amélioration de la sécurité, et qui visent collectivement à développer, livrer, instaurer et évaluer des pratiques axées sur la sécurité des patients qui contribueront à réduire les préjudices.


En lire davantage

Faire de la sécurité des patients une priorité

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients rehaussera le profil de la sécurité des patients auprès du public, des patients, des prestataires de soins, des leaders en santé et des gouvernements en posant les actions ci-dessous :

  • Faire entendre la voix des patients dans les reportages, les campagnes et les médias afin que la sécurité des patients devienne une haute priorité partout au sein des systèmes de santé.
  • Rehausser le profil de la sécurité des patients dans les médias.
  • Utiliser des récits percutants de patients pour éveiller l’intérêt des patients et du public.
  • Utiliser une grande variété de plateformes numériques et de réseaux sociaux pour engager le public, les fournisseurs de soins et les leaders dans un échange d’idées et de stratégies pour aider à faire progresser la sécurité des patients.
  • Tirer parti des mesures en place pour rendre compte de l’état de la sécurité des patients au pays.
  • Puiser l’information des analyses et des données probantes des autres activités de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et la communiquer sur le terrain.

En lire davantage

Impact des politiques

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients influencera les politiques, les normes et les règlements afin d’assurer l’intégration des meilleures données probantes en matière de sécurité des patients. Nos objectifs sont les suivants :

  • Contribuer aux données probantes pour documenter les politiques et les normes afin qu’elles soutiennent au mieux la sécurité des patients aux niveaux organisationnels et systémiques.
  • Travailler pour que les exigences en matière de sécurité des patients soient enchâssées dans les règlements, les lois, les normes et l’agrément.
  • Influencer les formateurs et ceux qui décernent des titres professionnels en santé pour que la sécurité des patients soit une compétence de base requise de tous les fournisseurs de soins et leaders en santé.
  • Soutenir l’élaboration de mesures plus rigoureuses, la divulgation et une plus grande transparence en matière de sécurité des patients au Canada.

En lire davantage

Alliances et réseaux

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients créera des alliances stratégiques et des réseaux avec les patients, les gouvernements, l’industrie et d’autres partenaires voués à rendre les soins de santé plus sécuritaires. Nos objectifs se déclinent comme suit :

  • Créer un nouveau réseau de décideurs haut placés au sein des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux qui souhaitent pallier les enjeux problématiques courants de la sécurité des patients.
  • Susciter l’engagement des partenaires de l’industrie en vue d’enrayer les obstacles à la sécurité des patients.
  • Créer de nouveaux réseaux de groupes de patients pour le partage du savoir-faire et de l’expérience en matière d’engagement des patients.
  • Promouvoir l’harmonisation nationale des priorités de la sécurité des patients mises de l’avant par les systèmes de santé.

En lire davantage

Mesure de la performance et de l’impact

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients s’engage à mesurer son impact. La Stratégie de mesure de la performance nous permet de vérifier si nous remplissons nos objectifs. Il s’agit en termes concrets d’un mécanisme de rétroaction pour notre approche à deux volets - démontrer ce qui fonctionne et renforcer l’engagement - qui nous renseigne sur le degré d’efficacité de nos actions vis-à-vis l’un et l’autre de ces éléments.

Une infrastructure pour la production à l’interne de rapports sur les données requises a été élaborée afin de produire notre carte de pointage et le tableau des données en lien avec la Stratégie de mesure de la performance. Nous avons également recueilli des données sur les indicateurs de mesure lorsque celles-ci étaient disponibles, et avons fait le travail préliminaire pour la collecte et la production de données non encore disponibles pour d’autres indicateurs de mesure, mais qui le seront en 2019-2020 et ultérieurement.

En lire davantage

Le gouvernement fédéral a procédé à un examen du futur rôle et de la configuration des organisations pancanadiennes de santé (OPS). L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a participé au processus du Groupe directeur de la mise en œuvre, et continue à travailler avec d’autres OPS et les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour renforcer la collaboration et l’impact.